Among the other 44 stars hoping to take home the coveted theatre prize are Ewan MCGregor, Bill Nighy, Elisabeth Moss, Kristen Chenoweth, Kelsey Grammer, Matthew Morrison, Carey Mulligan, Chita Rivera and Ruth Wilson.

The organisation's only acting category encompasses performers in all types of New York productions, however an actor can only win the award once in their lifetime.

Other stars recognised for their outstanding stage performances over the past year, but who have won the Distinguished Performance prize before, include Hugh Jackman, Glenn Close and Nathan Lane for both his roles in The Iceman Cometh and It’s Only A Play.

Mirren's The Audience and Gyllenhaal and Wilson's Constellations are among the 10 shows competing for the title of Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Play, while An American in Paris, Finding Neverland, Fun Home, Ghost Quartet, Hamilton, It Shoulda Been You, Something Rotten! and The Visit will fight it out for the title of Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical.

The nominated revivals include The King and I, On The Town, The Elephant Man and You Can't Take It With You.

In addition, Joel Grey will be feted with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre trophy and Stephen Daldry, who currently has two shows on Broadway, will receive the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

The full list of winners will be announced at the 81st annual ceremony on 15 May (15).