Harry Styles picked up the British Style Award at the 2013 British Fashion Awards.

The One Direction hunk became the first male winner of the only prize to be voted for by members of the public, which was presented to him by three-time winner Alexa Chung.

The 19-year-old singer - who has become a Fashion Week regular - was one of the hot favourites for the win, despite being up against the likes of The Duchess of Cambridge and Cara Delevingne, after scooping the Best Style gong at the EMAs last month.

Meanwhile, Christopher Kane was crowned Womenswear Designer of the Year last night (02.12.13), while Christopher Bailey at Burberry won two prizes, Designer Brand of the Year and Menswear Designer of the Year.

Supermodel Kate Moss picked up the Special Recognition Award for her illustrious modelling career.

Other notable wins included Edie Campbell beating Cara Delevingne to the Model of the Year award and Miuccia Prada being presented with the inaugural International Designer of the Year prize.

Natalie Massenet, chairman of the British Fashion Council, said in a statement: ''The roll call of winners announced this evening is a phenomenal display of talent in the fashion industry. The British Fashion Awards gives us the chance to commend not only the winners but celebrate all of the individuals that contribute to the incredible achievements that make London the best fashion destination in the world.''

The 2013 British Fashion Awards winners are as follows:

Womenswear Designer of the Year - Christopher Kane

Menswear Designer of the Year - Burberry

International Designer of the Year - Miuccia Prada for Prada

Designer Brand of the Year - Burberry

Accessory Designer of the Year - Nicholas Kirkwood

Emerging Womenswear Designer - Simone Rocha

Emerging Menswear Designer - Agi & Sam

New Establishment Designer - JW Anderson

Model of the Year - Edie Campbell

Red Carpet Award - Erdem

Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator - Lady Amanda Harlech

British Style Award brought to you by Vodafone (voted by the public) - Harry Styles

Special Recognition Award - Kate Moss

Special Recognition Award - Suzy Menkes

Outstanding Achievement in Fashion - Terry and Tricia Jones, founders of i-D