Frightened Rabbit Announce New 'Backyard Skulls' Ep Out 31st March 2013

Frightened Rabbit Announce New 'Backyard Skulls' Ep Out 31st March 2013

Following the release of their critically-acclaimed fourth studio album Pedestrian Verse, which recently claimed the no. 9 spot in the albums chart, Scottish quintet Frightened Rabbit have announced the 'Backyard Skulls' EP, released on 31st March through Atlantic Records.

Lead singer Scott Hutchison comments on the track, 'This song takes the idea of skeletons in the closet a step further. It was inspired by a novel by the Scottish writer Chris Brookmyre, in which bodies are discovered using aerial photography. The song itself is one of the starkest contrasts between bright pop and darkness that we've ever written.' 

Those pre-ordering the EP on iTunes will receive a special new track - 'Norland Wind' - the result of a collaboration with Scottish folk band LAU. After a long period of mutual admiration, the two bands finally headed into the studio in Glasgow together and laid down their version of this classic track, which began its life as the poem 'Norland Wind (The Wild Geese)', written in 1915 by Angus poet Violet Jacob and was first set to music by folk singer Jim Reid. The track will also be available as an etched 7" vinyl for Record Store Day. 

Frightened Rabbit recently finished their biggest ever UK tour, playing to over 15,000 people including a sold out show at the London Forum. They finished up at Glasgow's Barrowlands before heading over to the U.S. to perform on the national television show Conan O'Brian and play a string of packed out shows at SXSW Music Conference. 

They are now embarking on a lengthy string of U.S. headline shows before heading back to our shores this summer for appearances at End of the Road Festival, T in the Park and Boardmasters, with more festival announcements to come soon.

Frightened Rabbit are - Scott Hutchison (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), Billy Kennedy (bass), Andy Monaghan (guitar/keys), Grant Hutchison (drums) and Gordon Skene (guitar/keys). 


1. Backyard Skulls 
2. The Woodpile (Alternate Version) 
3. Holy (Alternate Version) 
4. Acts Of Man (Live at Glasgow Barrowlands) 
5. Norland Wind [Pre-order exclusive]

Summer 2013 Festival Dates (More to be announced soon):

12th - 14th July - T In The Park, Kinross-shire 
9th August - Boardmasters, Newquay 
30th Aug - 1st Sept - End Of The Road