Fleetwood Mac are the latest in what’s becoming quite a long procession of acts rocking up unannounced and dropping material on us causing a mass outbreak of giddyitis. That’s right the seminal British group may have already announced their live return, but they didn’t say anything about when they were going to be putting new material out. It turns out that they had an idea of when all along – namely yesterday (April 30, 2013).

The group have released an EP of new material onto iTunes without warning, their first new studio recordings since 2003’s Say You Will LP. We knew it was going to come because guitarist Lindsay Buckingham had said last month at a show "One of the things we thought would be a good idea before we hit the road would be to go into the studio and cut some new material. So last year we did that. It's the best stuff we've done in a long time and in a few days we're going to drop an EP of new stuff."

However, the surprise is that it’s dropped now. The EP contains the songs Sad Angel, It Takes Time and Miss Fantasy – all of which were written by Buckingham. It also includes the track Without You, originally written by Stevie Nicks as part of Nicks and Buckingham’s former collaborative project. The group come to the UK in November.

Fleetwood Mac
Fleetwood Mac are back! In studio form!