Billy Bragg To Receive Aim 'Outstanding Contribution' Award, Aim Independent Music Awards 2013

Billy Bragg To Receive Aim 'Outstanding Contribution' Award, Aim Independent Music Awards 2013

Britain's foremost political songwriter, and quintessential independent artist, Billy Bragg will be the worthy recipient of the 'Outstanding Contribution to Music' award, sponsored by eMusic, at this year's AIM Independent Music Awards.
It is 30 years since his debut mini-album Life's A Riot became an unlikely Top 30 hit, and Billy Bragg remains one of the unique figures at the forefront of British independent music.
From Don't Try This At Home, Sexuality, New England and most recently Handyman Blues, to Between The Wars, There Is Power In A Union and Never Buy The Sun, Billy has always combined his beliefs with a healthy dose of pop.  Remaining one of our most consistently outspoken artists, he has sailed a truly independent path, regardless of prevailing musical trends.
This year he released his 12th studio album Tooth and Nail, recorded in just five days it was a return to the spontaneous recording and production style of his first albums. Alongside his prolific recording career, Billy has been a tireless campaigner on a range of issues, not least the rights of fellow musicians and artists as an outspoken member of the Featured Artist Coalition.
Billy said, 'I was inspired by punk rock, not just by the music but by the DIY ethos that drove the scene. Over the years I've held onto that spirit by working with labels whose commitment to independence has offered me greater control of my output. Therefore, to be recognised by AIM as an artist who has made an outstanding contribution to music is a great honour.'
Chairman of AIM, Alison Wenham heralded the Award recipient, "Billy is bottled independent spirit. His ethos, his work ethic, his constant campaigning towards a better deal for musicians the world over - not forgetting a catalogue of great music - earns him AIM's coveted 2013 Outstanding Contribution to Music."
Billy will receive the award, alongside Pioneer Award winner Geoff Travis and other award recipients at The Brewery in Clerkenwell on September 3rd. Tickets for the awards ceremony are on sale now from

Now enjoying its third year, the AIM Awards goes from strength to strength, with media partners and leading sponsors coming together to deliver this year's event including; XFM, Music Week, eMusic, The Orchard, PPL, 7digital, Spotify, Disc Manufacturing Services, Vevo, UK Music and Coutts. 

Hosted by those tireless champions of new music Steve Lamacq and Huw Stephens, 16 awards will be presented, voted for by an expert panel of judges from across the media and music industry; Sean Adams (DrownedInSound); Tom Robinson (BBC 6music); Ben Patashnik (Rock Sound); Luke Turner (The Quietus); Pete Paphides (Journalist); Nick DeCosemo (Mixmag); Laura Lukanz (BBC 1xtra); Paul Stokes (Q Magazine); Elisa Bray (The Independent); John Kennedy (XFM); Ras Kwame(DJ); Tim Ingham (Music Week); JJ Dunning (The Fly); DJ Target (1Xtra); Danielle Perry (XFM); Eve Barlow (NME); Janice Long (BBC R2); Huw Stephens (BBC R1); Steve Lamacq (BBC 6Music); Arwa Haider (Metro); Mike Walsh (XFM);
Mark Sutherland (Kerrang!, Rolling Stone).
Categories for the 2013 Awards:
Best Live Act (in association with The Fly)
Independent Breakthrough of the Year (sponsored by 7digital)
Hardest Working Band or Artist
Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services)
Special Catalogue Release of the Year
Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (sponsored by UK Music, in association with AIF and This is Fake DIY)
Independent Video of the Year (Sponsored by Vevo)
Indie Champion Award
Best 'Difficult' Second Album (Sponsored by Xfm)
Independent Track of the Year (Sponsored by Spotify)
PPL Award for Most Played New Artist
Independent Album of the Year (in association with Record Store Day)
Innovator Award
Independent Label of the Year (sponsored by Coutts)
Pioneer Award (sponsored by The Orchard)
Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic)