Beware Of Darkness To Release Debut Album 'Orthodox'  May 7th 2013

Beware Of Darkness To Release Debut Album 'Orthodox' May 7th 2013

Los Angeles-based indie rock band Beware of Darkness are pleased to announce the release of their debut album titled Orthodox. Recorded at the Sound Factory and Valley Recorder in Hollywood, CA, executive produced and mixed by Dave Sardy (Oasis, LCD Soundsystem, Nine Inch Nails), and produced by Greg Gordon and frontman Kyle Nicolaides, the album will be released on May 7, 2013 through Bright Antenna. Anticipation for the album has been building since the band released their beloved Howl EP last year that earned instant acclaim and launched the single "Howl," a song that has already hit Top 40 Rock Radio with over 26 stations playing it in regular rotation and whose video premiered on FUSE. As a whole, the band's debut album proves itself to be a sensuous experience - aimed somewhere between the gut and dirty dive bar - but death, and its implications for the living, is wrestled with on nearly each of the album's twelve blistering tracks. Additionally, the band will be featured as "Artist of The Month" on all Clear Channel radio station homepages in March.

"The working title was Bleak but it eventually became Orthodox," reveals Nicolaides of his band's long-awaited album. "I kept writing that word down in my journals. The first half means right and true, the second half means belief. I think the record is a lot about that too - about coming into awareness." Lyrically, Nicolaides cites literary influences, Sylvia Plath, Emily Dickinson, and David Foster Wallace. He delivers scathing lyrical content in a snarling howl tackling subject matters of depression, chaste women, pedophile priests, and post-modern paranoia. Incredibly potent and precise, these are lyrics are meant to evoke reactions.

2013 is set to be a busy year for the members of Beware of Darkness - Kyle Nicolaides (vocals, guitar), Daniel Curcio (bass) and Tony Cupito (drums) - with "Howl" continuing to climb the alternative radio charts as well as forthcoming appearances in the US, UK and Europe. Having already shared the stage with the likes of Social Distortion, Middle Class Rut, Deftones, Stone Temple Pilots, Hollywood Undead, The Wombats, Metric, Tegan and Sara, and Youngblood Hawke, the band will add more names to the list with performances on the Vans Warped Tour, a string of radio station-organized festivals, SXSW and a tour through Europe.

Orthodox track listing:
01. Howl
02. Sweet Girl
03. Ghost Town
04. Amen Amen
05. All Who Remain
06. Heart Attack
07. Morning Tea
08. End of the World
09. Life on Earth
10. My Planet is Dead
11. Salvation is Here
12. Hummingbird