Lena Dunham Confirms "Not That Kind of Girl" Book Release Date

It’s finally here, or at least that’s how Lena Dunham put it when she announced that her highly anticipated book, Not That Kind of Girl, is set to be released on October 7, 2014.

Lena Dunham

The popular actor, write, director and basically everything-it-takes-to-get-something-done-er announced the news via her widely-followed Instagram account, following that up with a little Tweet to send her fans in the right direction. This, of course, was met with a tidal wave of excitement from the legions of dedicated Dunham-ites that follow her every move.

“YES YES YES YES YES the new Bible! I can't wait,” wrote ‏@thenuggetttt. “One of the rare "celebrity" books I'll totally read. And hopefully you and Alex and I will discuss it over cheddar bunnies,” wrote @freydkin. “Oh my god. Also this is my sisters birthday no lie--you are so in tune with my soul!!!! Can't wait mama!!!!!” wrote @JMAXEN.

The book has been in the making for, well, it’s difficult to say as it’s a collection of Dunham’s thoughts and essays, but officially it’s been in the making since October 2012, when the Girls creator signed a deal for “more than $3.5m” with Random House.

Susan Kamil, the editor-in-chief and publisher of Random House, confirmed the acquisition at the time, saying in a statement, “We’re thrilled to welcome Lena to Random House. Her skill on the page as a writer is remarkable — fresh, wise, so assured. She is that rare literary talent that will only grow from strength to strength and we look forward to helping her build a long career as an author.”

Random House described the book as “in the tradition of Helen Gurley Brown, David Sedaris, and Nora Ephron,” offering “frank and funny advice on everything from sex to eating to traveling to work.” 

The news comes as Dunham’s immensely popular ‘Girls’, which manages to capture Brooklyn’s trendy zeitgeist and relate to millions of people across the world at the same time, is deep into its fourth season on HBO.


Contactmusic

Tags: Lena Dunham - HBO - Girls

Advertisement

More Lena Dunham

Lena Dunham, Bryan Cranston, Sarah Hyland: Best Pictures from the Emmys 2014

In an Emmy awards that most agree was a stone-cold classic, AMC's meth-drama 'Breaking Bad' was the big winner, taking home most of the night's...

Natasha Lyonne To Be 'Girls' Guest In Season 4: Who Will She Play?

Natasha Lyonne has been revealed to be guest starring in the fourth season of HBO's comedy-drama, Girls. The Orange Is The New Black actress will...

What Can We Expect To See From 'Girls' Season 4?

Girls Season 4 won’t premiere until 2015 but a few little snippets of information have already begun to trickle in. So, what do we know...

The Many Celebrity BFFs of Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift is like the girl at high school who knows absolutely everybody, but you're not quite sure how. She seems to move just...

Advertisement

Lena Dunham Glitters In Gold At The Point Foundation Gala

'Girls' star Lena Dunham looked dazzling in a gold dress on the red carpet at the Point Foundation's charity gala in New York City. The...

Emma Watson, Lorde, Lena Dunham: The New Young Female Role Models

Female celebrities can’t escape the title of ‘feminist’ or ‘role model’ these days, but it is a fact that they have a lot of influence....

Lorde Calls Out Airbrushing On Her Own Photo: "Remember Flaws Are Ok"

Today, Lorde has tried to prove to her fans that Photoshop perfection is not something to aspire to and that "flaws are ok" in selfies...

A Week In News: 'Divergent' Dominates, A "Conscious Uncoupling," And Teenage Turtles Suit Up

Gwyneth Paltrow & Chris Martin Split: Actress Gwyneth Paltrow and her husband, Coldplay frontman Chris Martin announced this week that they were splitting up. Well,...

Advertisement

Comments

Lena Dunham Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on Lena Dunham

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All