Angus Stone Announces New Album 'Broken Brights' Released July 16th 2012

Angus Stone Announces New Album 'Broken Brights' Released July 16th 2012

After six years of touring and recording as one half of Australia's award winning duo Angus & Julia Stone, Angus Stone is embarking on a new journey.

Broken Brights, his latest solo outing and due for release on July 16th, is, he says, "my most personal work to date". This album holds an essence that I've been searching for, for a long time." This personal journey became a geographical one too - the album was recorded in a variety of locations; a rustic dwelling in the Swiss Alps, along Australia's coastline, in a log cabin in the lush Indian countryside.

Current single Bird Of The Buffalo is reflective of the introspective songwriting and themes that inspire this latest collection. Written on the road in Europe it muses on the nature of the symbiotic relationship between the bird and the buffalo - a lively composition featuring distorted guitar riffs.

While title track Broken Brights is a nostalgic, dreamy tribute to our youth, It Was Blue takes a notably rockier route. That track in particular is proof that Stone's compositional skills transcend the preconceptions you might have about his musical style.

Fittingly, there's a story behind each and every track on the album. 'Wooden Chair' was inspired by the melody from the Angus & Julia track of the same name, which Stone felt needed to be revisited and brought to life in a new way.

1. River Love

2. Broken Brights

3. Bird On The Buffalo

4. Wooden Chair

5. The Blue Door

6. Apprentice Of The Rocket Man

7. Only A Woman

8. The Wolf And The Butler

9. Monsters

10. It Was Blue

11. Be What You Be

12. Clouds Above

13. End Of The World