Imogen Heap - Ellipse - Comments and Message Board

Comments Return to Article

sarah3's picture

sarah3

plain and simply - one of the worst reviews I've ever read. imogen's new cd is every bit the artistry she has achieved and continues to. if you simply don't like this style of music, don't bother reviewing it... your opinion isn't valid for those who want an unbiased review. and if this cd is your idea of terrible lyrics... i'd hate to hear the sort of music you tune into.

5 years 3 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

amc22004's picture

amc22004

Hey Sam,I suggest some quick fact- (and spell-)checking before you go ahead and completely skewer an album. For example, the song is "Wait It Out," not "Want It Out." The lyric is "everybody says that time heals everything" - not "time healing everything." (Which, besides being a grammatical mistake, misrepresents Imogen's view about the "time heals everything" concept in the first place).Spelling-wise, I'm not quite sure where to start - there are missing periods ("worst lyrics in recent history 'Hi there...'"), commas ("A search for redeeming features within Ellipse however is no easy..."), and dashes ("Starbucks style MOR"). Does Contact Music even employ an editor? I'm curious, both personally and professionally...A bit disappointed that the first review I found from a web-search was this one...solid Google-optimization skills, though!

5 years 1 month ago
Report
View Comments

xjacqi123x's picture

xjacqi123x

What a load of rubbish. Imogen Heap's music is chillingly haunting, and even if you don't like the genre, you have to be dumb to not recognise that its not a good album. The part I find funniest with the review? The song he slagged off? He got the title wrong.

4 years 12 months ago
Report
View Comments

JonWes's picture

JonWes

Wow, I'm okay with someone not liking Imogen. She's not for everyone. But I think a reviewer should at least be able to write proper sentences.You didn't get the track name right:"These flowery instances are never more evident than in Want It Out"It's actually Wait It Out.Subject/verb agreement is your friend:"So many tracks on Ellipse sounds like they're geared up for being background music"This should be 'So many tracks on Ellipse sound...'The review contains assertions that are demonstrably false and show a lack of research:"But just as Frou Frou never really got off the ground, Ellipse pretty much suffers the same fate. "You might want to go look up sales for the Frou Frou album. There hasn't been another as they are both so successful in their other projects.The phrasing is so awkward, I'm REALLY hoping English isn't your first language." A recording career that's spanned 11 years, has seen her originally release a solo album""A search for redeeming features within Ellipse however is no easy task, single First Train Home with its atmospheric intro and fairly likeable chorus is one of very few."Did you run out of commas?"Likewise Aha at least offers some energy and intent but its too little too late for an album that couldn't be more irrelevant if it tried. "(There should be one after Likewise... and that's just for a start. There are quite a few missing elsewhere too)If you guys want to send me the CD I'll write a review that's not a total embarrassment to the site.

5 years 1 month ago
Report
View Comments

nothernlad55's picture

nothernlad55

mmm you cant even speak the queens english (to much texting me thinks) Imogen Heap is the most popular artist on the internet because of her talent and her interacting with her fans... not because of critics like you who dont know talent. You go with the flow to save your arse because journo's like you are a dying breed (thank god)... youde better go to English classes and get your C.S.E's if you can manage that (very old exams)... i doubt it pfffff

5 years 1 month ago
Report
View Comments

Frankie_in_Cork's picture

Frankie_in_Cork

After reading Sam's review, I find it hard to believe someone can comment on lyrics, yet obviously lacks the ability to formulate a proper sentence in English. Perhaps a course in basic English communication would be more appropriate than feeling you are advanced to the level that you can critique the talent of those who are far above you. Sam, I suggest you master scratching in the dirt before you reach for the stars. You have a long way to evolve!

5 years 1 month ago
Report
View Comments

shanaelle's picture

shanaelle

uhh... I don't think this dude even LISTENED to the album. He got a lot of the 'lyrics' wrong and even got a song title wrong. Seriously, what is this guy doing reviewing? It would be different if he were at least halfway right about his opinions, but he's not. Perhaps he just doesn't care for this type of music; that's okay, but don't have him review anything ever again.

5 years 2 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

BillytheMountain's picture

BillytheMountain

As a music critic, Sam has a very long way to go before being taken seriously. No real discussion about the songs, composition, contemporary production and just a simple but odious comparison to music that once was based on her lyrics. In fact it is a beautiful statement of where the lady is now and done by the lady herself. Her fans know this and can identify with her considerable talent and effort. With contributors like Sam, little wonder I won't be back nor link you to my site - the biggest music site in the US.

5 years 1 month ago
Report
View Comments

phostek's picture

phostek

Seriously? Look, reviewer, you don't have to like what you hear. That's fine, you're entitled to that. But you do have to dig a little deeper, and be a little more analytical. And articulate. Anybody can just react. We don't need to read reviews for a surface-level assessment. FAIL!

5 years 2 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

lizzyrd's picture

lizzyrd

You should be ashamed of yourself and very embarrassed. Before you EVER attempt to write something so controversial you should probably know what you're talking about. How did you listen to the CD? One time only while tripping out? Because I'm pretty sure that's the only way you did it.Her new album is a great rendition of her life right now, and if you did any sort of background research before writing this waste of internet space you would have known that.Bless your heart.

5 years 2 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

AAron1888888's picture

AAron1888888

Look up Hater in the Dictionary and you'll see Sam. Get some ears son.

5 years 2 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

jem1117's picture

jem1117

"Want It Out"? Seriously?? As soon as I read that, your "review" lost all credibility, not that it was much of a legitimate review to begin with. A very shallow, very amateur critique.

5 years 2 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

Morten L.'s picture

Morten L.

Sam... A really terrible review, not because you don't like the music. Everyone is entitled to not liking an artist, but seriously, you can't write for s***!

5 years 2 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

Timskie's picture

Timskie

What can I say? Except that the reviewer is partly brain dead, with no concept of talent. I went to see Imogen live and I can honestly say she blew me away. She does it all herself, the recording, the writing. There aren't many talented artists like her around these days! Its a beautiful album... I do agree however that 'Bad body double' is a cringe worthy track, but give her credit where credit is due!

5 years 2 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

Aha!'s picture

Aha!

Go back to school, check your facts and join us here in 2009. Her fan base is bigger than you and your juvenile review. Which means "Ellipse" is one of the most important albums of the year. She wasn't on a break for four years, she's been working the entire time. maybe you should go back to the rock you've been living under. If you can't recognize the talent and art form that is Imogen Heap then you should get out of the business.

5 years 4 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

theAtavist's picture

theAtavist

I would think a music critic would actually listen to the music before they critique it. It's pretty obvious you didn't. (DIDO....wtf???) Imogen doesn't make the sort of music you fall in love with right away. You catch the mood, and let the lyrics and subtleties sneak up on you. Imogen's music stimulates the imagination and is currently some of the best in modern music. I think you need to listen again!!!!...and far as this album is concerned i think 2-1, canvas and tidal are Masterpieces.

5 years 4 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

adam harris's picture

adam harris

I could write all day about Imogen heap, her previous albums and her latest one. But i wont, Im going to say simply and firmly....Imogen Heap changed my life. For that I love here.

5 years 4 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

Hahnna's picture

Hahnna

Oh my god. You really don't know how to judge Sam. How pity. I bet you didn't even listened to her songs properly. Take a headphone, and LISTEN to them AGAIN. You'll able to listen to everything! HER songs are good and arent boring like Taylor Swift or Miley Cyrus or whatever. Her songs are obviously unique! Your opinion won't change anything.

5 years 3 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

Theedna's picture

Theedna

As a writer your review loses credibility if you can't even quote the song titles correctly, ie. 'Want it Out' is actually "Wait it Out."

4 years 11 months ago
Report
View Comments

adrianalaffitte's picture

adrianalaffitte

i bet you only listen to uptempo crappy pop music like hannah montana jonas brothers and so on ...for me imogen is a real artist with real talent that many people would die to havei really wanted to punch your face while reading your crappy review, seriously!

5 years 2 weeks ago
Report
View Comments

johnny_v42zro's picture

johnny_v42zro

This reviewer is a fool. Don't pay attn to his BS

5 years 3 weeks ago
Report
View Comments
Advertisement
Advertisement